Join the Chapter 5 Chat... tonight @ 8:30 pm NT (8 pm AT, 7 PM ET)!

There's a place for your voice... join our follow-up Twitter Chat!

8:30 PM NT, (8 PM AT, 7 PM ET)




Here are the questions from Chapter 5 we’ll reflect on tonight:

Q1) When you think about multiplication and division which models would be most powerful long term?


Q2) How are models connected to development?


Q3) How do we support children to construct models then generalize their thinking?


Q4) ”The issue here is not whether facts should eventually be memorized, but how this memorization is achieved; by rote drill and practice, or by focusing on relationships?” (p.86) What practices support students to develop automaticity?


Q5) “Models cannot be transmitted any more than strategies or big ideas can be; learners must construct them.” (p 80).
How does this shift our practice?


Q6) What contexts for mathematizing division are you finding useful?

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Join in: Twitter Chat January 25, 2018 - 8:30 pm NT (7 ET, 8 AT)

Twitter Chat tonight ... Chapters 7 & 8 @8:30 NT!

Join us! Twitter chat February 8, 2018 @8:30 pm NT (8:00pm AT, 7:00 pm ET)